AMA Congratulates 36 Champions at Amateur National MX Championship

The Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship held Aug. 2-7, saw hundreds of the country’s top motocross racers descend on the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., for the most-prestigious amateur race in the world. When the dust cleared, 33 riders claimed AMA No. 1 plates in 36 classes. 

Levi Kitchen, from Washougal, Wash., won the Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award.

Among them was Yamaha rider Levi Kitchen, who earned AMA championships in 250 Pro Sport and Open Pro Sport, one of the most competitive classes at this year’s event. Kitchen, from Washougal, Wash., won the Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award, which is presented annually to the amateur motocross racer with the most promising professional career. In 2020, Kitchen won the AMA Amateur Motocross Rider of the Year award. 

“We thank the riders, families and event promoter MX Sports for organizing another exceptional AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship,” said AMA Deputy Director of Racing Mike Burkeen. “The Loretta Lynn track in August is always a challenge. The track crew, the race officials and everyone else involved in the production of this year’s event really stepped up and delivered this year.” 

Kitchen was just one of many stars to emerge during the event, capturing three moto wins en route to his two titles. 

“Winning this award has been one of my goals since I watched RJ Hampshire win it in 2014,” said Kitchen, who will launch his professional career at the AMA Pro Motocross Championship next weekend in the 250 class at Unadilla, riding for Star Yamaha. 

Another standout rider was Drew Adams, the 2021 AMA Youth Motocross Rider of the Year. Adams won all three motos of the 85cc (10-12) class and backed that up with an overall win in Mini Sr. 1 (12-14). 

The 2021 AMA Amateur Motocross Rider of the Year was Nicholas Romano, who won three motos in 250 B. A last lap fall in Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C kept Romano from winning that title as well. 

Broc Peterson was the 2021 AMA Vet Motocross Rider of the Year. With 1-1-2 moto finishes, Broc brought the Vet (30+) title back to his hometown of Delta, Ohio. 

Below are the 36 AMA National Championships won at the event: 

  • Open Pro Sport: Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Wash., Yamaha (3-1-1) 
  • 250 Pro Sport: Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Wash., Yamaha (3-1-2) 
  • 450 B: Chase Prince, Petersburg, Tenn., Honda (3-1-1) 
  • 450 B Limited: Julien Beaumer, Lake Havasu, Ariz., Husqvarna (1-3-2) 
  • 450 C: Brennan Schofield, Canada, Yamaha (3-2-5) 
  • 250 B: Nick Romano, Bayside, N.Y., Yamaha (1-1-1) 
  • 250 B Limited: Matti Jorgensen Jr., Pompano, Fla., KTM (2-3-1) 
  • 250 C: Brandon Bollino, Essex, Ill., Yamaha (2-2-1) 
  • 250 C Limited: Nico Long, Scottsdale, Ariz., KTM (1-1-2) 
  • 250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited: Gabe Holland, Winterville, Ga., KTM (1-1-2) 
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C: Evan Ferry, Largo, Fla., Husqvarna (1-2-2) 
  • Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C: Caden Braswell, Shalimar, Fla., KTM (5-2-1) 
  • 125 C: Keegan Rowley, Channahon, Ill., KTM (3-1-1) 
  • Women: Sophia Phelps, St. George, Utah, Kawasaki (2-1-1) 
  • Supermini 1 (12-15): Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif., KTM (1-1-1) 
  • Supermini 2 (13-16): Krystian Janik, Oak Lawn, Ill., Kawasaki (4-2-2) 
  • 65cc (7-9): Elliott Bowsher, Cornelius, Ohio, GASGAS (2-1-1) 
  • 65cc (10-11): Vincent Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Husqvarna (3-1-1) 
  • 85cc (10-12): Drew Adams, Chattanooga, Tenn., Kawasaki (1-1-1) 
  • Girls (11-16): Kyleigh Stallings, Austin, Texas, Husqvarna (1-1-1) 
  • 125cc (12-17) B/C: Evan Ferry, Largo, Fla., Husqvarna (2-1-1) 
  • College (18-24): Justin Cokinos, Hanover, Mass., GASGAS (1-2-2) 
  • Junior (25+): Heath Harrison, Salisbury, N.C., Honda (1-2-2) 
  • Vet (30+): Broc Peterson, Delta, Ohio, (1-1-2) 
  • Senior (40+): Edward Walston, Pinetops, N.C., KTM (2-3-1) 
  • Senior (45+): Mike Brown, Bristol, Tenn., Husqvarna (1-1-1) 
  • Masters (50+): Keith Johnson, Carver, Mass., Kawasaki (2-1-1) 
  • Mini-E (4-6) Jr.: Talon Hinson, Clovis, Calif., KTM (1-2-2) 
  • 51cc (4-6) Shaft Dr. LTD: Carter Schutte, Chesterfield, S.C., Yamaha (1-1-1) 
  • 51cc (4-6) Limited: Kannon Zabojnik, Rowlett, Texas, Cobra (1-1-3) 
  • 51cc (7-8) Limited: Sawyer Gieck, Alpine, Wyo., Cobra (2-1-1) 
  • 65cc (7-9) Limited: Tayce Morgan, Lehi, Utah, GASGAS (1-2-5) 
  • 65cc (10-11) Limited: Carson Wood, Zephyrhills, Fla., GASGAS (2-1-1) 
  • 85cc (10-12) Limited: Caden Dudney, Athens, Texas, KTM (2-2-1) 
  • Mini Sr. 1 (12-14): Drew Adams, Chattanooga, Tenn., Kawasaki (3-2-2) 
  • Mini Sr. 2 (13-15): Thomas Wood, Cairo, Ga., KTM (1-2-1) 

Complete results from the 2021 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship can be found at here

The AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship represents one of the longest-running motorsports championships in the country. The AMA launched the national championship program in 1975. That year, a series of regional races qualified 135 riders in three classes — 125cc, 250cc and Open — for the championship round in Baldwin, Kan. The program evolved over the next few years to include additional classes, with championship finales run in varying locations across the country. 

In 1982, the AMA partnered with MX Sports and the event moved to its current location at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. There, the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship has crowned the country’s top amateur motocross riders ever since. 

You May Also Like

MIC Members Now Have the Power of Data

New interactive dashboards and historical sales data files are now available on the Motorcycle Industry Council’s website.

Motorcycle Industry Council

Members of the Motorcycle Industry Council (MIC) now have access to powerful new dashboards on www.mic.org. Four dashboards enable visualization of the S&P Global Mobility annual dataset and include:

Powersports Vehicles-In-Operation Overview

Powersports Vehicles-In-Operation Segment Analysis

Powersports Vehicles-In-Operation Model Registration Trends

Honda to Support MotoAmerica Mini Cup

The youth-focused championship is open to riders of Groms and some CRF-F models.

2024 MotoAmerican Mini Cup Honda Grom
onX Offroad Named Official Mapping Partner of 2024 AMA U.S. Hard Enduro Series Championship 

onX Offroad will help elevate the rider and spectator experience for each round of the USHE series with easy-to-find course routes and spectator viewing locations throughout the season.

onX Offroad GPS map on cellphone
‘Push the Limit: Harley-Davidson Racing Season 2’ Debuts on YouTube

The six-episode docuseries provides a behind-the-scenes perspective of the 2023 MotoAmerica King of the Baggers race season.

Push the Limit: Harley-Davidson Racing Season 2 poster
Aprilia USA and RideSmart Motorcycle School Enter Partnership

This partnership will accommodate Fly-N-Ride Packages, advanced coaching activity and a range of the most capable Aprilia machinery for the most demanding enthusiasts.

Aprilia, RideSmart Motorcycle School, Aprilia machines on track

Other Posts

2025 Beta RX Models

For the 2025 season, Beta enhances the 300 RX and 450 RX models with engine, chassis and suspension updates.

Honda Announces National Technician Contest

Top qualifiers from Honda’s online technician test will travel to Alpharetta, Georgia, for the National Final.

OTR Hires Global Vice President of Sales and Marketing OEM

OTR Engineered Solutions appointed Ben Brown to grow the company’s OEM business globally.

Peugeot Motorcycles Italia Sentenced to Pay Piaggio Group in Patent Infringement Case

Piaggio continues its fight to protect its products against counterfeiting.