World’s Best Amateur Athletes to Compete at First-Ever SuperMotocross World Championship Finals

zMAX Dragway and Chicagoland Speedway will offer fans camping options.

On the heels of the most prestigious amateur national motocross event in the world coming to a close this past weekend (Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship), the SuperMotocross (SMX) League announced that three different classes of amateurs will be featured in the upcoming SuperMotocross World Championship Finals.

The 65 World All-Stars Class (ages 7 to 11) will compete at zMAX Dragway at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, North Carolina, on Saturday, Sept. 9. The Supermini World All-Stars (ages 12 to 16) will compete at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Illinois, on Saturday, Sept. 16, and the 250 World All-Stars (ages 14 and up) will compete at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, California, on Saturday, Sept. 23.

Each class will front a full 22-athlete starting gate, and competitors will be hand-selected from around the world by each original equipment manufacturer (GASGAS, Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, KTM, Suzuki, Yamaha and Cobra), competing in the SMX World Championship.  

Just like their pro counterparts, amateur competitors in all three classes will have two free practice sessions on Friday to learn the SMX track. Then, Saturday’s schedule will include two 10-minute qualifying sessions for gate picks, followed by an eight-minute-plus-one-lap Main Event that will take place during the afternoon (Charlotte) or evening program (Chicago, Los Angeles).

With three rounds left in the Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing — Unadilla, Budds Creek and Ironman — the playoff picture is coming into focus. Currently, Chase Sexton tops the 450cc Class with 590 combined points (Supercross and Pro Motocross), followed by Aaron Plessinger with 516 and Cooper Webb with 451. Jett Lawrence currently sits in fifth with 400 points but could easily surpass Webb if his perfect season (16-0) continues.

In the 250cc Class, Hunter Lawrence sits firmly in the top position with 524 combined points, followed by Haiden Deegan with 465 and RJ Hampshire with 460.

Due to the expansive footprints at both zMAX Dragway at Charlotte Motor Speedway and Chicagoland Speedway, camping is available at both locations. For a truly unique SMX experience that puts fans right in the middle of everything, both trackside and non-trackside camping options are available. Fans will also have access to a complete itinerary of Friday activities that include attending the pre-race press conference; watching the free practice sessions; and being part of the live SMX Insiders Show featuring Jason Weigandt, Jason Thomas, Ricky Carmichael, James Stewart and others.   

The SMX World Championship series pays the sport’s largest prize payout of $10 million: $4.5 million is awarded throughout the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship and Pro Motocross Championship, leaving $5.5 million to be earned through the SMX World Championship Finals, fueled by Monster Energy. The 450cc Class SMX Champion is guaranteed a seven-figure payday of $1 million while the 250cc Class SMX Champion will take home $500,000. 

For more information about the 2023 SuperMotocross World Championship; to purchase event or camping tickets to the SuperMotocross World Championship Finals; or to learn more about how to tune in via television, domestic or international streaming, visit supermotocross.com and Peacock.  

You May Also Like

Peugeot Motorcycles Italia Sentenced to Pay Piaggio Group in Patent Infringement Case

Piaggio continues its fight to protect its products against counterfeiting.


The Piaggio Group said that the Corte di Cassazione, Italy’s supreme court of appeal, had dismissed as inadmissible the appeal filed by Peugeot Motocycles SAS and Peugeot Motocycles Italia against the ruling of the Milan Court of Appeal of Jan. 16, 2023, which upheld the first-instance judgement of the Court of Milan that, with the Peugeot Metropolis, the Peugeot entities had infringed the Italian portion of a Piaggio & C. S.p.A. European patent.

Honda to Support MotoAmerica Mini Cup

The youth-focused championship is open to riders of Groms and some CRF-F models.

2024 MotoAmerican Mini Cup Honda Grom
onX Offroad Named Official Mapping Partner of 2024 AMA U.S. Hard Enduro Series Championship 

onX Offroad will help elevate the rider and spectator experience for each round of the USHE series with easy-to-find course routes and spectator viewing locations throughout the season.

onX Offroad GPS map on cellphone
‘Push the Limit: Harley-Davidson Racing Season 2’ Debuts on YouTube

The six-episode docuseries provides a behind-the-scenes perspective of the 2023 MotoAmerica King of the Baggers race season.

Push the Limit: Harley-Davidson Racing Season 2 poster
Aprilia USA and RideSmart Motorcycle School Enter Partnership

This partnership will accommodate Fly-N-Ride Packages, advanced coaching activity and a range of the most capable Aprilia machinery for the most demanding enthusiasts.

Aprilia, RideSmart Motorcycle School, Aprilia machines on track

Other Posts

2025 Beta RX Models

For the 2025 season, Beta enhances the 300 RX and 450 RX models with engine, chassis and suspension updates.

Triumph Motorcycle Dealers Rank 1st for Easy Appointments

Across the powersports industry, one in seven powersports customers failed in an attempt to schedule service.

RumbleOn Appoints New Chief Financial Officer

Tiffany Kice brings over 25 years of experience in financial leadership roles for public and private companies.

Yuasa Battery Inc. Announces New President, CEO

Rio Okubo, with over 25 years in the battery industry, takes over as the new president and CEO.