Jett Lawrence Makes History at Anaheim 1 Supercross

Australian becomes first-ever rookie to win his premier-class debut.

Team Honda HRC’s Jett Lawrence made history at the highly anticipated opener to AMA Supercross’s 50th anniversary season, becoming the first rookie to win in his premier-class indoors debut. Meanwhile, in his first official ride aboard the factory Team Honda HRC CRF250R, Jo Shimoda fought through the pack to finish fourth in the 250SX West division. The Anaheim 1 Supercross was not as kind to Hunter Lawrence, as a series of misfortunes prevented him from advancing to the main event, but he’s determined to come back strong next week to show his true potential in San Francisco.

Jett came out swinging in the 450SX main event with an impressive holeshot aboard his CRF450RWE. The 20-year-old Australian sensation led every lap with his signature smooth, collected style, perfectly managing the gap to the riders behind him and crossing the finish line with a seven-second margin. Also impressive was Dylan Ferrandis, who finished in the top five in his debut with Phoenix Racing Honda.

In the 250 main event, Shimoda got a good jump out of the gate but was shuffled to the outside of the first turn and found himself out of the top 10 early on. The Japanese rider remained calm and settled into a good pace, working his way forward throughout the main event to eventually threaten for a podium position, although he ultimately settled for a close fourth place when the checkers flew. Other Red Riders to finish in the top 10 were SmarTop/MotoConcepts racers Mitchell Oldenburg (eighth) and Carson Mumford (10th).

450SX Results

  1. Jett Lawrence (Hon)
  2. Jason Anderson (Kaw)
  3. Chase Sexton (KTM)
  4. Aaron Plessinger (KTM)
  5. Dylan Ferrandis (Hon)
  6. Cooper Webb (Yam)
  7. Justin Barcia (Gas)
  8. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  9. Eli Tomac (Yam)
  10. Ken Roczen (Suz)

450SX Championship Points (After Round 1 of 17)

  1. Jett Lawrence (25)
  2. Jason Anderson: 22
  3. Chase Sexton: 20
  4. Aaron Plessinger: 18
  5. Dylan Ferrandis: 17
  6. Cooper Webb: 16
  7. Justin Barcia: 15
  8. Justin Cooper: 14
  9. Eli Tomac: 13
  10. Ken Roczen: 12

250SX West Region Results

  1. R.J. Hampshire (Hus)
  2. Jordon Smith (Yam)
  3. Levi Kitchen (Kaw)
  4. Jo Shimoda (Hon)
  5. Max Vohland (Kaw)
  6. Julien Beaumer (KTM)
  7. Garrett Marchbanks (Yam)
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg (Hon)
  9. Ryder DiFrancesco (Gas)
  10. Carson Mumford (Hon)

250SX West Region Championship Points (After Round 1 of 10)

  1. R.J. Hampshire: 25
  2. Jordon Smith: 22
  3. Levi Kitchen: 20
  4. Jo Shimoda: 18
  5. Max Vohland: 17
  6. Julien Beaumer: 16
  7. Garrett Marchbanks: 15
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg: 14
  9. Ryder DiFrancesco: 13
  10. Carson Mumford: 12

You May Also Like

Polaris Off Road Unveils Full Driver Lineup for 2024 King of the Hammers

In addition to the Polaris Factory Racing team, fellow Polaris-supported racers Branden Sims, Wayne and Kristen Matlock, Justin Lambert and Sierra Romo are all set to compete in Desert Challenge.

King of the Hammers, Polaris RZR Pro

As tens of thousands of people start to descend on ‘Hammertown’ in Johnson Valley, California, for the two-week long spectacle that is King of the Hammers, Polaris Off Road unveils its full driver lineup, featuring some legendary names in off-road racing, for both the Desert Challenge and UTV Championship Rock Race. 

Polaris Off Road Welcomes Max Eddy Jr. as 4th Factory Driver for 2024 Race Season

The five-time Baja 500 and Baja 1000 champion will pilot one of Polaris’ purpose-built RZR Pro R Factory vehicles.

Max Eddy Jr., Polaris Off Road Team
Cody Webb Wins the 2024 LIQUI MOLY King of the Motos for the 6th Time

Cody Webb dominated the U.S. Hard Enduro opening round in the three-lap, GPS-based race in Johnson Valley.

Cody Webb
Polaris Off-Road Secures 2024 Dakar Rally Victory

Xavier de Soultrait and Co-Pilot Martin Bonnet earned two stage wins in their route to the overall SSV T4 category victory.

Dakar Rally Victory, SLR driver Xavier de Soultrait and co-pilot Martin Bonne
Ricky Brabec Wins Dakar Rally for the 2nd Time

New-generation Honda CRF450 Rally rules in its debut.

Ricky Brabec, Dakar Rally 2024

Other Posts

RevZilla/Mission/Vance & Hines Suzuki Team To Feature Herrera And Gadson In 2024 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship

Returning champ Herrara will be paired with NHRA Pro Stock rookie Gadson.

Gaige Herrera and Richard Gadson
Aprilia Tuareg Wins 2024 Africa Eco Race

After leading from day one, Cerutti arrived as the overall winner.

Jacopo Cerutti riding Aprilia Tuareg in the Africa Eco Race
Vance & Hines Motorsports Announces Sponsorship Partnership with RevZilla

For the first time, all of Vance & Hines’ racing programs fall under one sponsorship umbrella.

Vance & Hines Motorsports bikes, trucks, Revzilla branding