Team Honda HRC Sweeps Detroit Supercross

Chase Sexton scored a come-from-behind win in the premier division.

Having come tantalizingly close on a number of occasions this year, Team Honda HRC finally completed an AMA Supercross win sweep at Round 10 in Detroit, with Chase Sexton topping the premier division and Hunter Lawrence ruling the 250SX East Region category.

To earn his premier-class main-event win, Sexton had to pass some of the class’s top riders. Following an eighth-place start, he quickly moved up a spot, then passed Ken Roczen for sixth on Lap 2. He displaced Adam Cianciarulo for fifth two laps later, moved around Eli Tomac on Lap 8 and got Cooper Webb for third on Lap 10. One lap later, he came out on top of a scrap with Justin Barcia to assume second place, and he set out after Aaron Plessinger, who had a lead of over eight seconds. Sexton shrunk the gap to as low as 3.5 seconds before Plessinger crashed two laps from the end, helping the CRF450R to take the win.

Meanwhile, the 250SX East main event saw Lawrence snare the holeshot and check out. Five minutes in, he had an advantage of more than three seconds over second place, and he added another second by the 10-minute mark. At the finish, the Australian was 7.6 seconds ahead for his fifth win in six rounds.

450SX Results

  1. Chase Sexton (Hon)
  2. Cooper Webb (KTM)
  3. Eli Tomac (Yam)
  4. Justin Barcia (Gas)
  5. Ken Roczen (Suz)
  6. Christian Craig (Hus)
  7. Justin Hill (KTM)
  8. Adam Cianciarulo (Kaw)
  9. Jason Anderson (Kaw)
  10. Justin Hill (KTM)

450SX Championship Points (After 10 of 17 Rounds)

  1. Cooper Webb: 225
  2. Eli Tomac: 222
  3. Chase Sexton: 208
  4. Ken Roczen: 182
  5. Jason Anderson: 180
  6. Justin Barcia: 174
  7. Aaron Plessinger: 164
  8. Christian Craig: 136
  9. Adam Cianciarulo: 107
  10. Justin Hill: 103

250SX East Overall Results

  1. Hunter Lawrence (Hon)
  2. Nate Thrasher (Yam)
  3. Haiden Deegan (Yam)
  4. Jeremy Martin (Yam)
  5. Chris Blose (Kaw)
  6. Tom Vialle (KTM)
  7. Cullin Park (Hon)
  8. Coty Schock (Hon)
  9. Henry Miller (Hon)
  10. Michael Hicks (Hon)

250SX East Region Championship Points (After 6 of 10 Rounds)

  1. Hunter Lawrence: 151
  2. Nate Thrasher: 116
  3. Haiden Deegan: 111
  4. Jeremy Martin: 109
  5. Max Anstie: 104
  6. Jordon Smith: 92
  7. Chris Blose: 88
  8. Tom Vialle: 85
  9. Coty Schock: 72
  10. Cullin Park: 67

You May Also Like

Colt Nichols and Next Wave of FIM World Supercross Championship Competitors Announced

Justin Brayton, Vince Friese, Enzo Lopes, Chris Blose, Kyle Peters and more added to 2023 Championship teams’ lineups.

FIM World Supercross Championship

The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship has continued to expand its global contingent of star athletes, announcing Colt Nichols, Justin Brayton, Vince Friese, Enzo Lopes, Chris Blose and Kyle Peters, who have all been added to the six-round championship season.

With global sensation Ken Roczen recently announcing his return to WSX competition, SX Global CEO Adam Bailey said Roczen’s commitment and the growing list of international stars add further anticipation and excitement for fans attending this year’s events around the world.

450SX Crown Fulfills Honda’s 2023 AMA SX Championship Sweep

Chase Sexton took Honda’s first premier-class AMA Supercross title in 20 years.

Chase Sexton
Pirelli to Continue as Spec Tire for North American World MiniGP Qualifiers

Pirelli Trackside Racing vendors will provide support at all five rounds.

Pirelli, FIM World MiniGP
Honda-Backed Team Raceco Launched to Compete in Short Course SxS Racing

Team Raceco Honda will field the Talon 1000R side-by-sides in the Champ series.

Team Raceco Honda, Dave Mason Jr. and Jamie Campbell
Ken Roczen Announces Long-Term Commitment to FIM World Supercross Championship

Roczen returns to defend his WSX 450cc class world title in 2023 and beyond.

Ken Roczen

Other Posts

Jett Lawrence Takes 2023 AMA 250SX West Region Championship

The title comes one week after his brother, Hunter Lawrence, won the 250SX East crown.

Jett Lawrence
Hunter Lawrence Clinches 2023 AMA 250SX East Region Championship

Debut AMA title for the 23-year-old Australian.

Hunter Lawrence
Royal Enfield’s BTR Flat Track Program Kicks Off 2023 at Dallas Half-Mile

Morgan Monroe scored first-place in a thrilling start to the BTR season.

Build. Train. Race., Royal Enfield BTR
Broadcast Expands Globally for FIM World Supercross Championship

WSX will reach more than half a billion households worldwide in 2023.

FIM WSX, broadcast partners