WomenRidersNow Founder Receives Prestigious Bessie Stringfield Award from AMA

Longtime motorcycle journalist and spokesperson Genevieve Schmitt was awarded with the prestigious Bessie Stringfield Award from the AMA at the AIMExpo before a room of powersports industry professionals and media representatives.

Longtime motorcycle journalist and spokesperson Genevieve Schmitt was awarded with the prestigious Bessie Stringfield Award from the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) at the AIMExpo before a room of powersports industry professionals and media representatives. The AMA Bessie Stringfield Award memorializes the accomplishments of AMA Hall of Famer Bessie Stringfield and recognizes efforts to introduce motorcycling to new or underserved markets.

“I am truly humbled and grateful by the AMA choosing me to receive this award,” says Schmitt. “This recognition is a nice validation of the work I’ve done with women and motorcycling for most of my journalism career.” AMA Chairman of the Board Maggie McNally presented Schmitt with the steel and glass engraved award during a special reception at the AIMExpo in Columbus, Ohio.

Schmitt has been a fixture in women’s motorcycling for more than two decades. A rider since 1990, she has worked as a print and television journalist writing for nearly every motorcycle magazine over the years and working as a reporter for Speed Channel and Outdoor Life Network. She was the first woman to report from the seat of a motorcycle and an ATV on TV. In 1999, she was asked to turn around a fledgling women’s motorcycle magazine and from there she made it her business to focus on bringing relevant and timely content to the growing population of women motorcycle riders. In 2006, she turned her attention to the internet and launched WomenRidersNow.com. It has grown to become the premier resource for women and the men who ride with them.

Schmitt is also a two-time motorcycle Hall of Fame inductee having been inducted into the Las Vegas Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2017, and the Sturgis Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2001. In 2019, she was also named by Dealernews one of the Top 100 People in Powersports which recognizes leaders, disruptors, change agents, entrepreneurs and teachers who have made a real difference in how the industry has evolved and moved forward over the past five decades.

Schmitt started her career in broadcast television working as a producer for Good Morning America, EXTRA and E! Entertainment Television where she earned a Daytime Emmy Award Nomination.

Link: WomenRidersNow

You May Also Like

Pirelli Announces Multi-Year Partnership with Liqui Moly Beta Racing

The seven-rider team will compete aboard Pirelli-equipped Betas and rely on the performance of the SCORPION XC range.

Pirelli, Liqui Moly Beta racing team

Pirelli Tire North America has announced a multi-year partnership with the Liqui Moly Beta Racing team that will see its racers competing on Pirelli SCORPION XC tires across North America for 2023 and beyond. This new partnership showcases Pirelli’s commitment to off-road racing, which will include competing in Grand National Cross Country (GNCC), National Enduro Promotions Group (NEPG), U.S. Hard Enduro, EnduroX, National Hare and Hound (NHHA), West Hare Scramble (WHS), World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS) and National Grand Prix Championship (NGPC).

Moto Morini Chooses AIMExpo for U.S. Market Launch

Moto Morini will be presenting at AIMExpo’s new Product Central stage on Feb. 15.

Moto Morini
H-D1 Marketplace Now Accepting Private-Party Listings

Private parties join dealers on the go-to online marketplace for used H-D bikes.

H-D1 Marketplace
Zapp Expands International Footprint With New Design and Technology Campus in Bangkok, Thailand

The Design and Technology Campus will support the development and engineering of next-generation high-performance electric vehicles and creates a base for Asia-Pacific market growth.

Zapp campus

Other Posts

Can-Am Factory Racers Make History Winning Sixth Dakar Rally

Austin Jones became the youngest back-to-back Dakar champion in T3, while Eryk Goczal became the youngest Dakar winner in T4.

Dakar Rally 2023
Volcon Announces 2023 Vehicle Roadmap as Stag Pre-Production Orders Reach Over $116 Million

The company will be launching products this year and has made manufacturing developments.

Volcon Stag
SX Global Appoints Leading Global Sponsorship Agencies to Support Expansion in 2023 and Beyond

Leading global agencies bolster World Supercross (WSX) international sponsorship expansion.

World Supercross Championship logo
The 2023 Liqui Moly Beta Racing Team

The team returns six riders from the 2022 team and welcomes one newcomer.

Liqui Moly Beta racing team