Progressive IMS Outdoors Custom Bike Show Winners in Texas

Progressive IMS Outdoors, a consumer motorcycle tour connecting enthusiasts with industry-leading brands, has announced the winners of the 12th annual J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show (UBCBS) held last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, TX, the fourth stop on the eight-city tour. UBCBS has a rich history as the nation’s largest motorcycle builder competition, featuring hundreds of motorcycles and offering the chance to win tens of thousands in cash and prizes across the 2021 IMS tour.  

“We designed the competition to spotlight professional and amateur builders alike, attracting world-class builders at each stop along the tour that come to showcase their rolling works of art. Not only do the participants receive well-deserved recognition, but the custom motorcycles on display provide event attendees the opportunity to engage with some of the finest customs across the U.S.,” remarked Bob Kay, director of UBCBS.    

Each stop along the tour holds a competition at the event comprised of three classes – Custom Street Class, Custom Classic Class, and Freestyle Class – and the People’s Choice Award. Winners from each category are entered into the championship round held in Atlanta, competing for the grand prize and renowned title: King of Builders.   

“Congratulations to the winners in Texas—officially halfway through the tour, we have seen some remarkable bikes and this city’s bunch had incredibly unique and custom builds that reflected each builder’s story and background. We are still accepting applications for the upcoming four cities and welcome all creatives and builders to be a part of the fun,” continued Kay. Apply to participate in the upcoming competitions here: https://motorcycleshows.com/UBCBS.   

Winners from IMS Texas include:   


    * JC Coen with won with a 1980 Harley-Davidson FXB. This custom classic was painted by OSC and features an engine size of 80.  


    * Ryan Brown secured runner-up with a custom 1965 Harley-Davidson Panhead.  


    * Danny Ratliff won with a 2014 Darwin Digger Bobber. Custom built by Brass Balls with a magic touch from “Manny” the magician from Oklahoma City, brushed stained finish that changes color from all directions.   


    * Jason Williams secured runner-up with a 2012 Harley-Davidson Road Glide, custom painted by Gary Queen.  


    * Larry Curik won with a 2021 Lone Star Chopper XR1525S, custom painted by Springel. The motorcycle features a dual front head Shovelhead, exhaust ports moved and left side exit and dual carbs on the right side. Everything on the bike is handmade or modified, including the wheels, brakes, and sheet metal. The bike started as a 30-year-old Ness Luxury Liner frame that Larry chopped himself.


    * Justin Kelly secured runner-up with a 2003 Harley-Davidson XL, custom painted by Conrad.    


    * Motorcycle Missions won the People’s Choice award with their 1972 Honda Cl350. The motorcycle was built by a group of female US Veterans, where they tore the bike down and got right into restoring the old parts and installing the new ones. They did a complete engine rebuild/restore, learned how to prep their bike for paint and learned how to ceramic coat their parts, wrap their exhaust, fabricate, metal shape, and detail their bike for the show, thanks to Meguiars. The bike started as a restore in May 2019 and then turned custom with a set of brand-new Yamaha R6 forks, and custom triple trees donated by Cognito Moto. The 7-inch LED Evo S headlight and mounting brackets were made and donated by Motodemic. 18-inch wheels front and back with a donated Cognito Moto machined front hub and wheels laced by Buchanans. Powder coating donated by Temecula Powder coating. Custom-made seat donated and made by Corbin Seats, and the Ikon Suspension. Rear shocks donated by Ikon Suspension. Exhaust mufflers donated by Voodoo Moto and titanium exhaust wrap donated by DEI Engineering.

You May Also Like

Industry Veterans Marilyn Stemp and Steve Piehl Appointed to Sturgis Motorcycle Museum and Hall of Fame’s Board

Stemp and Piehl will begin serving on the board immediately.

Marilyn Stemp and Steve Piehl

The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum and Hall of Fame recently named Marilyn Stemp and Steve Piehl to its board of directors.

Stemp is a pioneering figure in the motorcycle industry, founding IronWorks Magazine with her late husband, Dennis, and becoming the first female editor of a nationally circulated, mainstream motorcycle magazine. She also revived their trade magazine, Iron Trader News; edits the monthly Kiwi Indian News; contributes to several powersports media outlets; and is the founding editor of Sturgis Rider Daily. Stemp is a noted editor and writer of several motorcycle-focused books. Her consistent support for charitable efforts in the industry include the annual Biker Belles Celebration, Las Vegas BikeFest and as campaign chair for the Sturgis Motorcycle Museum’s development plan in 2014. She co-founded the Flying Piston charity events taking place in Daytona and Sturgis each year and is a National Ambassador for All Kids Bike. Stemp was inducted into both the Las Vegas Motorcycle Hall of Fame and the Sturgis Museum's Hall of Fame in 2018, and in 2022 she was recognized as one of the Top 100 Women in Powersports by DealerNews.

MIC Statistical Annual Now Available

Get ahead of the motorcycle sales season.

Motorcycle Industry Council
REV’IT! TAILORTECH Design Challenge Offers U.S. Riders Chance to Win Custom Race Suit

Submissions will be accepted through April 21, 2024.

racing suit
Vespa World Days 2024 Set to Run April 18-21

The National Vespa Clubs from 55 countries come together, uniting thousands of Vespas from five continents.

Vespa World Days 2024
Mips Becomes Official Safety Partner of the FIM Motocross World Championship

This exclusive collaboration promotes enhanced safety awareness across the MXGP series.

MXGP/Mips partnership

Other Posts

The 2025 KTM XC Range

Ready to take on cross-country duties.

2025 KTM XC
Aprilia RSV4 Factory and Tuono V4 Factory SE-09 SBK

The special edition that celebrates the Aprilia RSV4’s first legendary victory makes its début.

2024 Aprilia RSV4 and Tuono SE-09 SBK
2024 Beta RS Special Edition Models

These limited-production models have KYB suspension and Race Edition-inspired add-ons in a dual sport package.

2024 Beta RS Special Edition
Rekluse Team Names Randy Mullinix Product Manager

Mullinix comes with a tenure of two decades at leading OEMs.

Randy Mullinix