Matt Smith Captures 2018 Pro Stock Motorcycle World Championship

“The new DENSO Iridium spark plugs powered us to the No. 1 qualifying position to win each race and the championship,” Smith said.

DENSO Iridium spark plugs rocketed NHRA racer Matt Smith across the finish line Sunday to capture the 2018 Pro Stock Motorcycle world championship at the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals. Smith also capped the 2018 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series with five runs, breaking the 200-mph mark during the closing event in Pomona, CA., including a record-breaking 201.22 mph pass to clinch the title as the fastest Pro Stock Motorcycle racer in NHRA history.

“The new DENSO Iridium spark plugs powered us to the No. 1 qualifying position to win each race and the championship,” Smith said. In the winning streak that kicked off Saturday with a 200.65 mph run in his first qualifying race, Smith shattered the previous high-speed record during Sunday’s finale. “At 201.22 mph, we became the fastest Pro Stock Motorcycle in the history of the class with DENSO Iridium spark plugs.”

Smith’s win marks his third time in the winner’s circle as the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle world champion. Smith’s lightning-speed runs made him the third racer this year to enter the DENSO 200-mph Club, earning him a bonus of $3,000 from DENSO. DENSO created the club early in the 2018 season to honor the first four racers in the Pro Stock Motorcycle category to break the 200-mph barrier. Smith also takes home a $1,000 bonus for riding on DENSO spark plugs.

Smith was joined by first-time world champion Tanner Gray, who rode DENSO spark plugs to victory in the Pro Stock automobile class. At 19, Gray is also the youngest winner in NRHA Drag Racing history.

DENSO Products and Services Americas, Inc., an affiliate of leading global automotive supplier DENSO Corp., is an associate-level sponsor of Smith. DENSO is also the primary sponsor of Angie Smith, Matt Smith’s teammate and wife, who finished the 2018 season among the top 10 Pro Stock Motorcycle racers.

For three consecutive years, DENSO has been the title sponsor of the DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals in Las Vegas and a supporting sponsor of the entire NHRA Mello Yello Series. In August, DENSO renewed its title sponsorship for another three years, starting with the NRHA Four-Wide Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway scheduled for April 5-7, 2019.


You May Also Like

Hunter Lawrence Clinches 2023 AMA 250SX East Region Championship

Debut AMA title for the 23-year-old Australian.

Hunter Lawrence

During April 29th's AMA Supercross round at Nissan Stadium, Team Honda HRC rider Hunter Lawrence clinched the 250SX East Region Championship with yet another main-event victory. Of the nine East Region events held so far this season, Lawrence has ridden his CRF250R to the win in seven, and he finished third at the other two. The series finale is still to be run, but Lawrence’s 56-point lead in the title chase is too large for any rider to overcome.

Royal Enfield’s BTR Flat Track Program Kicks Off 2023 at Dallas Half-Mile

Morgan Monroe scored first-place in a thrilling start to the BTR season.

Build. Train. Race., Royal Enfield BTR
Broadcast Expands Globally for FIM World Supercross Championship

WSX will reach more than half a billion households worldwide in 2023.

FIM WSX, broadcast partners
FIM WSX Championship Teams Begin Revealing 2023 Season Riders

The first 13 athletes are confirmed for the global series’ six events in 2023.

FIM World Supercross Championship 2023

Other Posts

KTM 2023 Podium-Focused Contingency Program and Trackside Support

Supporting both amateur and pro racers.

KTM contingency program
Pirelli Announces 2023 RYAO Road Racing Program Schedule

The 10-round program provides racers the opportunity to compete in multiple classes at CCS and ASRA events throughout the nation.

RYAO Road Racing Program
Parker 400 Under New Ownership and New Off-Road Racing Series Announced

As part of the acquisition by the Martelli Brothers, the structuring of a brand-new desert off-road racing organization called Unlimited Off-Road Racing will be formed.

Polaris Factory Racing Tops the Pro UTV Open Class at San Felipe 250

Craig Scanlon took his RZR Pro R to the top of the podium at the 36th running of the year’s first Baja event.