Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Highlights: Round 3

Team Honda HRC swept both classes again at Toyota Thunder Valley National.

High temperatures and the always challenging altitude of Thunder Valley Motocross Park set the stage for yet another compelling afternoon of action for the 50th Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The Toyota Thunder Valley National marked the third race of the 2022 season and didn’t disappoint in the battle for victory.

450 Class

The home crowd was fully behind Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Eli Tomac, and the Colorado native gave them what they wanted with a first moto victory, but Moto 2 provided an incredible showdown between Tomac and Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen in what ended up being a battle for the overall win. The former champions duked it out for second place for most of the moto as Roczen ultimately withstood every challenge Tomac threw at him, but when race leader and point leader Chase Sexton crashed on the final lap of the moto aboard his Team Honda HRC ride, it handed the moto win to Roczen and put the German atop the overall classification for his first win of the season.

450 Class Overall Results (Moto Finish)

  1. Ken Roczen, Germany, Honda (2-1)
  2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colorado, Yamaha (1-3)
  3. Chase Sexton, La Moille, Illinois, Honda (4-2)
  4. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, New Mexico, Kawasaki (3-6)
  5. Antonio Cairoli, Italy, KTM (5-4)
  6. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minnesota, KTM (7-7)
  7. Justin Barcia, Monroe, New York, GASGAS (6-8)
  8. Shane McElrath, Canton, North Carolina, Husqvarna (12-5)
  9. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Georgia, Kawasaki (8-9)
  10. Garrett Marchbanks, Coalville, Utah, Yamaha (9-11)

450 Class Championship Standings (Round 3 of 12)

  1. Chase Sexton, La Moille, Illionois, Honda: 134
  2. Ken Roczen, Germany, Honda: 129
  3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colorado, Yamaha: 120
  4. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, New Mexico, Kawasaki: 111
  5. Christian Craig, El Cajon, California, Yamaha: 92
  6. Antonio Cairoli, Italy, KTM: 89
  7. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minnesota, KTM: 89
  8. Justin Barcia, Monroe, New York, GASGAS: 74
  9. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, KTM: 72
  10. Shane McElrath, Canton, North Carolina, Husqvarna: 65

250 Class

New faces took their turns at the front of the field in the 250 Class, as Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing’s Levi Kitchen and Team Honda HRC’s Hunter Lawrence both enjoyed wire-to-wire performances en route to their respective moto victories. However, it was once again defending champion and point leader Jett Lawrence who prevailed when all was said and done, relying on a pair of runner-up finishes to put his Team Honda HRC machine atop the podium for the third consecutive round.

250 Class Overall Results (Moto Finish)

  1. Jett Lawrence, Australia, Honda (2-2)
  2. Hunter Lawrence, Australia, Honda (4-1)
  3. Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Washington, Yamaha (1-5)
  4. Justin Cooper, Cold Spring Harbor, New York, Yamaha (3-3)
  5. Jo Shimoda, Japan, Kawasaki (7-6)
  6. Stilez Robertson, Bakersfield, California, Husqvarna (6-7)
  7. Michael Mosiman, Sebastopol, California, GASGAS (13-4)
  8. Matthew LeBlanc, Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, Yamaha (10-9)
  9. Seth Hammaker, Bainbridge, Pennsylvania, Kawasaki (5-15)
  10. Nick Romano, Bayside, New York, Yamaha (9-13)

250 Class Championship Standings (Round 3 of 12)

  1. Jett Lawrence, Australia, Honda: 139
  2. Hunter Lawrence, Australia, Honda: 127
  3. Jo Shimoda, Japan, Kawasaki: 101
  4. Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Washington, Yamaha: 100
  5. Justin Cooper, Cold Spring Harbor, New York, Yamaha: 100
  6. Michael Mosiman, Sebastopol, California, GASGAS: 81
  7. Seth Hammaker, Bainbridge, Pennsylvania, Kawasaki: 77
  8. Stilez Robertson, Bakersfield, California, Husqvarna: 74
  9. Max Vohland, Sacramento, California, KTM: 63
  10. Pierce Brown, Sandy, Utah, GASGAS: 58

You May Also Like

World’s Best Amateur Athletes to Compete at First-Ever SuperMotocross World Championship Finals

zMAX Dragway and Chicagoland Speedway will offer fans camping options.


On the heels of the most prestigious amateur national motocross event in the world coming to a close this past weekend (Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship), the SuperMotocross (SMX) League announced that three different classes of amateurs will be featured in the upcoming SuperMotocross World Championship Finals.

Industry Racing Speedway Welcomes the Thrilling Return of the AMA Speedway National Championship Series

Thousands of enthusiastic fans will gather to cheer on 16 speedway racers who will compete for victory.

AMA Speedway National Championship Series
Tyler Scott and Vision Wheel M4 ECSTAR Suzuki Win at Brainerd

Suzuki GSX-R750 earned a dramatic Supersport victory.

Tyler Scott
The 2024 Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series Schedule

The Parker 400, Mint 400 and California 300 will comprise the 2024 Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series.

Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series
Jett Lawrence’s Perfect Streak Continues With Win 7 at Spring Creek

Brother Hunter Lawrence regained control of the 250 Class with his fifth victory.

Jett Lawrence, Spring Creek

Other Posts

Mitas Conquers Sandy Motocross Terrains With All-New TERRA FORCE-MX SAND 2

The all-new SAND 2 pattern gives ultimate traction in deep sand.

New EVS Goggles

Introducing the Legacy Pro, Legacy Youth and Original Goggle.

EVS Legacy Pro Goggles
Yamaha Racing GNCC University Empowers Next Generation of Champs

Yamaha bLU cRU showcases dominance in Yamaha ATV and side-by-side racing.

Yamaha, GNCC
Jett Lawrence Stays Perfect Halfway Through 2023 Pro Motocross Championship to Collect 6th Win of Season

Vialle grabbed his first U.S. victory in the 250 class as the championship battle shakes up.

Pro Motocross