Honda Congratulates Dave Arnold on AMA Motorcycle HOF Induction

Following Dave Arnold’s Friday-evening (10/15/21) induction into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, in a ceremony held near the American Motorcyclist Association’s Pickerington, Ohio, headquarters, American Honda congratulated the legendary motocross team manager on the warranted tribute. The award was presented by fellow Hall of Famer Roger De Coster.

Arnold was hired by American Honda as a shop mechanic in 1974, the same year that the AMA 125 Motocross Championship was launched. (The 250 and 500 series had started two years earlier.) Within months, he was working with riders and was soon paired with Marty Smith, who won the ’74 and ’75 125 titles, as well as the ’77 500 crown. After spending the 1980 season with De Coster in Europe, working with the newly formed Honda Racing Corporation on the Grand Prix project, Arnold returned home to manage the U.S. effort, with close assistance from De Coster.

This marked the beginning of a golden era for Honda in American motocross and supercross, as Arnold developed the legendary factory RC two-strokes and managed a string of heroic riders. At the end of his first season in the position, Arnold and De Coster organized an all-Honda effort comprising riders Donnie Hansen, Danny LaPorte, Johnny O’Mara and Chuck Sun and scored Team USA’s first win in the Motocross des Nations and Trophee des Nations.

After compiling a long list of motocross and supercross titles with riders including David Bailey, Rick Johnson, Ron Lechien, Jean-Michel Bayle, Jeff Stanton and Jeremy McGrath, Arnold left the team management position before the ’95 season and switched to production research and development. A 20-year stint in that realm saw Arnold work with all categories of powersports products and even automobiles, building prototypes and working with new technologies. Following his in-house career, he did consulting stints for Factory Connection, KTM, Husqvarna, Alta, Honda and KYB, and managed his late brother’s machine shop.

“I don’t know that I ever thought much about being nominated or inducted in the Hall of Fame, but I’m honored and proud to be a part of it,” Arnold said. “I owe American Honda as much as anybody, because everything worked out great with the timing. They hired me right out of trade school, and it was a great opportunity, getting to work with the smartest guys in the world, including De Coster and the top-shelf engineers that Mr. Honda had. I had the opportunity to do so many fun, challenging things. Receiving this honor has been humbling and overwhelming, and I admire the other people in this group.”

Other members of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame’s 2021 class are motorcycling ambassador Nancy Davidson, ATV racer Gary Denton, dirt tracker Tommy Hays, country-music icon Loretta Lynn, off-road champion Scott Plessinger, dirt-track tuner Kenny Tolbert and motocross/supercross star Ryan Villopoto.

“Congratulations to Dave on this well-deserved accolade, and thanks to the American Motorcyclist Association for recognizing his contributions to motorcycling,” said Bill Savino, Senior Manager of Customer Engagement at American Honda. “As much as anyone, Dave is responsible for putting Honda at the top in motocross during the ’80s and ’90s – both on the track and in the showrooms. While he’s best known for his success in racing, Dave also made important contributions to Honda’s production models, and he serves as a model for our associates today. Everyone at Honda is pleased to see him receive this honor.”

You May Also Like

Krämer Motorcycles USA Adds to Dealer Network

Colorado Springs Powersports joins the company’s North American dealer network.


Krämer Motorcycles USA has announced a new addition to its North American dealer network, as Colorado Springs Powersports has joined the team and is ready to serve track enthusiasts in the Rocky Mountains.

“Colorado Springs Powersports is a key partner in our careful expansion of the Krämer Motorcycles dealer network in North America and helps us achieve our goal of doubling our dealer presence in the United States over the next year,” said Jensen Beeler, CEO of Krämer Motorcycles USA. “The team at Colorado Springs Powersports lives and breathes racing, and they have the expertise to maintain the high level of customer support that Krämer owners have come to expect while at the track. They are a perfect example of what we look for in a dealership, and we couldn’t be happier to welcome them to the Krämer family.”

AIMExpo 2025 Returns to Las Vegas

AIMExpo is set to rock the Las Vegas Convention Center Feb. 5-7, 2025, for what is shaping up to be a third record-breaking show year.

LAND Partners With Bloom to Supply Electric Battery Solutions

The LAND and Bloom collaboration spurs efficiency, growth and innovation across the light electric vehicle industry.

LAND logo
Moto Guzzi USA Announces Northeast Demo Tour

Attendees will have the opportunity to get behind bars of the newest Moto Guzzi models.

Moto Guzzi Northeast Demo Tour, Moto Guzzi 2024 motorcycle models
Segway Powersports Adds New Managers

JJ Pecsok joins as sales operations manager and Caitlyn Williams transitions to field marketing manager.


Other Posts

Suzuki and H.E.P. Announce Next 2024 RM Army Boot Camp

The boot camp includes track time, pro rider interactions and unforgettable moments at this event for Suzuki motocross motorcycle owners.

Turn 14 Distribution Adds EVS Sports to the Line Card

The partnership between Turn 14 Distribution and EVS Sports will bring customers an expanded selection of powersports protection.

Boundless Rider Launches Safe Rider Program

The Safe Rider Program utilizes AI-powered crash detection technology to provide real-time emergency response coordination.

Boundless Rider logo
Dainese Group Announces Atlanta Flagship Location

This new location in Atlanta is an experience with racing memorabilia and full lines of protective wear.

Dainese, D-Store Atlanta