FactoryONE Sherco Brings Home Hardware at The Grinding Stone Hard Enduro

Cooper Abbot and Louise Forsley took home P3 and P1 honors respectively.

Round one of the U.S. Hard Enduro series took place March 26 in Page, Arizona. The stunning desert terrain was easy on the eyes but treacherous for competitors. The grueling course and warm temperatures could not stop Cooper Abbott and Louise Forsley from taking home P3 and P1 honors respectively in the second edition of the Grinding Stone Hard Enduro.

“Man that was brutal,” exclaimed an exhausted Cooper Abbott. “I am from Arizona, but these conditions are so different. Deep sand, icy sandstone climbs and descents — it was gnarly,” continued Abbott. “Early in the race, I was battling with Ryder [Leblond] and Will [Riordan] for second through fourth spots. I think Will had an issue that put him back a bit. Ryder and I continued to swap spots until ultimately we all settled in for what would be the final order. The race was brutal, but I knew my training and fitness would help. I am so stoked with my podium finish in my first race with FactoryONE Sherco”

As the debutant Sherco rider mentioned, there were some great battles for the first two laps of the five lap race, but the podium would ultimately be settled on the third full lap when no more overtaking would occur. Trystan Hart would finish ahead of Ryder LeBlond and Abbott. The trio were the only riders to complete five full laps in the allotted time. This would be Abbott’s first podium in the top flight hard enduro series in the U.S. His previous best was P5 at this same race last year. Other Sherco top 20 finishes include Brandon Petrie, who had his best pro finish ever with a P5.  This was also his debut with Sherco Enduro Racing of Arizona. Matt Spears of Inside Enduro P19 and Mitch Carvolth of Sherco Enduro Racing finished P20. 

Louise Forsley put on a clinic in the women’s pro class. Not only did she finish P1 women pro, but she finished 33rd overall. She was the only female to complete two full laps. She finished ahead of Morgan Tanke and Kalyn Benaroya. Seventeen-year-old Hallie Marks finished P5 onboard an Inside Enduro Sherco SE 250 Factory. This was her first race in the pro class.

“I was really happy with my riding today. It was one of those days where I just felt so comfortable out there,” said Forsley. “Johnny from the Ride Shop had my suspension absolutely dialed. It gave me so much more confidence in sections where I might have normally questioned. I just wanted to ride my own race and focus on riding smart. I think I executed that, and it turned out good. My goal going in was to complete two full laps, and I did that as well. The course this year was awesome with multiple line choices.” 

You May Also Like

Team HRC to Enter FIM E-Xplorer World Cup

The FIM E-Xplorer World Cup is an endurocross discipline featuring exclusively electric motocross bikes.


Team HRC, Honda’s works racing outfit, will enter the FIM E-Xplorer World Cup starting in the 2024 season, which begins with the team’s home round in Osaka, Japan, Feb. 16-17.

The FIM E-Xplorer World Cup is an endurocross discipline featuring exclusively electric motocross bikes. The series therefore becomes the battleground for Honda’s CR ELECTRIC PROTO, which made an impressive competitive debut at Round 8 of the All Japan Motocross Championship at the end of last year against its established 450cc internal combustion counterparts.

Polaris Off Road Unveils Full Driver Lineup for 2024 King of the Hammers

In addition to the Polaris Factory Racing team, fellow Polaris-supported racers Branden Sims, Wayne and Kristen Matlock, Justin Lambert and Sierra Romo are all set to compete in Desert Challenge.

King of the Hammers, Polaris RZR Pro
Polaris Off Road Welcomes Max Eddy Jr. as 4th Factory Driver for 2024 Race Season

The five-time Baja 500 and Baja 1000 champion will pilot one of Polaris’ purpose-built RZR Pro R Factory vehicles.

Max Eddy Jr., Polaris Off Road Team
Cody Webb Wins the 2024 LIQUI MOLY King of the Motos for the 6th Time

Cody Webb dominated the U.S. Hard Enduro opening round in the three-lap, GPS-based race in Johnson Valley.

Cody Webb
Polaris Off-Road Secures 2024 Dakar Rally Victory

Xavier de Soultrait and Co-Pilot Martin Bonnet earned two stage wins in their route to the overall SSV T4 category victory.

Dakar Rally Victory, SLR driver Xavier de Soultrait and co-pilot Martin Bonne

Other Posts

Ricky Brabec Wins Dakar Rally for the 2nd Time

New-generation Honda CRF450 Rally rules in its debut.

Ricky Brabec, Dakar Rally 2024
RevZilla/Mission/Vance & Hines Suzuki Team To Feature Herrera And Gadson In 2024 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship

Returning champ Herrara will be paired with NHRA Pro Stock rookie Gadson.

Gaige Herrera and Richard Gadson
Aprilia Tuareg Wins 2024 Africa Eco Race

After leading from day one, Cerutti arrived as the overall winner.

Jacopo Cerutti riding Aprilia Tuareg in the Africa Eco Race