Dream Weekend for Team Honda HRC at AMA Pro Motocross Opener

Team Honda HRC riders swept the top two positions in both the 450 and 250 motos.

On a magical weekend during which Honda commemorated its 50th anniversary in motocross and unveiled the 2023 CRF Performance family, Team Honda HRC riders were literally perfect at Fox Raceway’s opening round of AMA Pro Motocross (which was celebrating its own 50th anniversary), sweeping the top two positions in both 450 motos and both 250 motos. For much of the day, the teammates were each other’s only real rivals at the Pala, California, track, but in the end it was Chase Sexton and Jett Lawrence winning the two classes to take early points leads, while Ken Roczen and Hunter Lawrence each notched a pair of impressive second-place results.

The Red Riders enjoyed strong starts in their motos, with Sexton and Roczen trading holeshots in 450 and Jett Lawrence second early on in both 250 races. Hunter Lawrence had the most overtaking work to do, including a moto 2 charge from seventh to second, highlighted by a dramatic last-lap pass on Jo Shimoda that kept the team’s impeccable results tally intact. Sexton had to make passes on Roczen in both 450 motos, whereas Jett ran relatively comfortably at the front in the 250 races. Both Sexton and Jett had relatively narrow winning margins over their teammates (averaging 10.3 seconds and 6.1 seconds respectively), whereas in the 450 motos, the gaps from Roczen to the first non-Honda riders averaged a notable 32 seconds!

The special day meant different things to the four riders: For Sexton, it was a statement performance that showed he is ready to run at the front of the premier class; for Roczen, it was a successful return to racing after he withdrew from Supercross in early March to rebuild his health; for Jett, it was a commanding beginning to his defense of the Gary Jones Cup that is held by the reigning 250 champ; and for Hunter, it was evidence that he is a legitimate threat to challenge his brother for that trophy. For anyone who witnessed the exhibition, it had the makings of motocross lore that will likely be recounted for another 50 years.

450 Overall Results

  1. Chase Sexton (Hon)
  2. Ken Roczen (Hon)
  3. Christian Craig (Yam)
  4. Eli Tomac (Yam)
  5. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
  6. Jason Anderson (Kaw)
  7. Antonio Cairoli (KTM)
  8. Aaron Plessinger (KTM)
  9. Justin Barcia (Gas)
  10. Shane McElrath (Hus)

  1. Bryson Gardner (Hon)
  2. Matthew Curler (Hon)
  3. Josh Mosiman (Hon)
  4. Jacob Runkles (Hon)
  5. Bryce Hammond (Hon)

450 Championship Points (after 1 of 12 rounds)

  1. Chase Sexton: 50
  2. Ken Roczen: 44
  3. Christian Craig: 40
  4. Eli Tomac: 32
  5. Ryan Dungey: 32
  6. Jason Anderson: 31
  7. Antonio Cairoli: 26
  8. Aaron Plessinger: 26
  9. Justin Barcia: 25
  10. Shane McElrath: 24

250 Overall Results

  1. Jett Lawrence (Hon)
  2. Hunter Lawrence (Hon)
  3. Jo Shimoda (Kaw)
  4. RJ Hampshire (Hus)
  5. Michael Mosiman (Gas)
  6. Austin Forkner (Kaw)
  7. Seth Hammaker (Kaw)
  8. Levi Kitchen (Yam)
  9. Pierce Brown (Gas)
  10. Stilez Robertson (Hus)

  1. Lance Kobusch (Hon)
  2. Noah Viney (Hon)
  3. Gavin Brough (Hon)

250 Championship Points (after 1 of 12 rounds)

  1. Jett Lawrence: 50
  2. Ken Roczen: 44
  3. Jo Shimoda: 38
  4. RJ Hampshire: 32
  5. Michael Mosiman: 30
  6. Austin Forkner: 30
  7. Seth Hammaker: 29
  8. Levi Ktichen: 29
  9. Pierce Brown: 28
  10. Stilez Robertson: 21

You May Also Like

World’s Best Amateur Athletes to Compete at First-Ever SuperMotocross World Championship Finals

zMAX Dragway and Chicagoland Speedway will offer fans camping options.


On the heels of the most prestigious amateur national motocross event in the world coming to a close this past weekend (Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship), the SuperMotocross (SMX) League announced that three different classes of amateurs will be featured in the upcoming SuperMotocross World Championship Finals.

Industry Racing Speedway Welcomes the Thrilling Return of the AMA Speedway National Championship Series

Thousands of enthusiastic fans will gather to cheer on 16 speedway racers who will compete for victory.

AMA Speedway National Championship Series
Tyler Scott and Vision Wheel M4 ECSTAR Suzuki Win at Brainerd

Suzuki GSX-R750 earned a dramatic Supersport victory.

Tyler Scott
The 2024 Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series Schedule

The Parker 400, Mint 400 and California 300 will comprise the 2024 Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series.

Unlimited Off-Road Racing Series
Jett Lawrence’s Perfect Streak Continues With Win 7 at Spring Creek

Brother Hunter Lawrence regained control of the 250 Class with his fifth victory.

Jett Lawrence, Spring Creek

Other Posts

Mitas Conquers Sandy Motocross Terrains With All-New TERRA FORCE-MX SAND 2

The all-new SAND 2 pattern gives ultimate traction in deep sand.

New EVS Goggles

Introducing the Legacy Pro, Legacy Youth and Original Goggle.

EVS Legacy Pro Goggles
Yamaha Racing GNCC University Empowers Next Generation of Champs

Yamaha bLU cRU showcases dominance in Yamaha ATV and side-by-side racing.

Yamaha, GNCC
Jett Lawrence Stays Perfect Halfway Through 2023 Pro Motocross Championship to Collect 6th Win of Season

Vialle grabbed his first U.S. victory in the 250 class as the championship battle shakes up.

Pro Motocross