AMA Names Winner of Nicky Hayden AMA Flat Track Horizon Award

The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates Trevor Brunner for winning the 2019 Nicky Hayden AMA Flat Track Horizon Award, which recognizes today's amateur flat track racer with the brightest prospects for a professional career.

The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates Trevor Brunner for winning the 2019 Nicky Hayden AMA Flat Track Horizon Award, which recognizes today’s amateur flat track racer with the brightest prospects for a professional career.

Travis Horn, of La Verne, CA, was named the 2019 AMA Youth Flat Track Racer of the Year. He won the 85cc DTX (7-11) and 85cc Modified (7-11) class titles.

The Vet/Senior Flat Track Racer of the Year Award went to Rob Williams, of Holly, MI, who took home top honors in the 50+ Super Senior Class.

Ryder Reese, of Elmira, NY, won the AMA Fast Brain Award, a $1,500 educational scholarship that benefits a young racer whose talent with the throttle is matched by aptitude in the classroom.

The riders received their awards at the conclusion of the 2019 AMA Flat Track Grand Championship at the Triangle Motorcycle Club in Harpster, OH. The amateur national flat track championship event featured four days of competition with more than 800 entries in three formats of flat track racing.

The annual grand championship took place at the Ashland County Fairgrounds in Ashland, OH, on July 23 and at the Triangle Motorcycle Club on July 24-26.

“Both Trevor and Ryder put in outstanding performances during this year’s AMA Flat Track Grand Championship,” AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant said. “They demonstrated great determination and sportsmanship during the event, and we are happy to present them with the two highest awards in amateur flat track racing.”

The Nicky Hayden AMA Flat Track Horizon Award honors the amateur racer who is poised for success at the professional level. The award is named after AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Nicky Hayden, who won the first AMA Horizon Award in 1997. Hayden died in 2017 after being hit by a car while training on a road bicycle.

Brunner, 16, of Aurora, IN, was among 14 riders to win 21 class championships at the event. He won four AMA No. 1 plates and plans to make his pro flat track debut in 2020.

“My goals coming into this event were to stay consistent and keep my head on straight,” Brunner said. “Nicky Hayden was an inspiration to us all with his character, on and off the bike. It’s great to win this award and join the ranks of the riders I have looked up to.”

Brunner’s stepfather Tommy Hensler was delighted to see Brunner’s hard work culminate in winning the award.

“He told me before we got here that he wanted to win four AMA No. 1 plates and the Horizon Award, and he went out and did it,” Hensler said. “Trevor wasn’t happy with how he did at this event in 2018 and made changes to his training and nutrition that really helped him this year.”

Reese, 11, is a third-generation flat track racer who excelled in the classroom during the past year. While he performed well at nearly every subject in school, he said his favorite class is gym class. He was excited to get home and tell his friends about his award.

“He gets his homework done before he gets on his bike,” Reese’s father, Darryl Reese, said. “I’m so proud of how well he’s done. His teachers have been great about giving him work to do when we travel to go racing, and he gets it all done.”

The AMA thanks AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legend Bill Werner, Zanotti Racing’s Dave Zanotti and Estenson Racing’s Tim Estenson for funding the AMA Fast Brain Award for 2019.

All the award winners will be honored during the AMA’s Legends & Champions Weekend in Columbus, OH, Dec. 6-7.

Link: AMA

You May Also Like

Top Canadian Superbike Riders Ben Young and Trevor Daley Join Team BATTLAX

Young and Daley will debut on the Bridgestone-backed effort at the Daytona 200 March 7-9, 2024.

Ben Young and Trevor Daley, Team BATTLAX

Bridgestone Americas announced it has teamed up with top Canadian Superbike Championship riders Ben Young and Trevor Daley to form Team BATTLAX, which will debut at the 82nd running of the Daytona 200 March 7-9, 2024, at Daytona International Speedway. Team BATTLAX will compete on a pair of identical custom Suzuki Canada GSX-R750 builds featuring Bridgestone BATTLAX race tires.

Team HRC to Enter FIM E-Xplorer World Cup

The FIM E-Xplorer World Cup is an endurocross discipline featuring exclusively electric motocross bikes.

Polaris Off Road Unveils Full Driver Lineup for 2024 King of the Hammers

In addition to the Polaris Factory Racing team, fellow Polaris-supported racers Branden Sims, Wayne and Kristen Matlock, Justin Lambert and Sierra Romo are all set to compete in Desert Challenge.

King of the Hammers, Polaris RZR Pro
Polaris Off Road Welcomes Max Eddy Jr. as 4th Factory Driver for 2024 Race Season

The five-time Baja 500 and Baja 1000 champion will pilot one of Polaris’ purpose-built RZR Pro R Factory vehicles.

Max Eddy Jr., Polaris Off Road Team
Cody Webb Wins the 2024 LIQUI MOLY King of the Motos for the 6th Time

Cody Webb dominated the U.S. Hard Enduro opening round in the three-lap, GPS-based race in Johnson Valley.

Cody Webb

Other Posts

Polaris Off-Road Secures 2024 Dakar Rally Victory

Xavier de Soultrait and Co-Pilot Martin Bonnet earned two stage wins in their route to the overall SSV T4 category victory.

Dakar Rally Victory, SLR driver Xavier de Soultrait and co-pilot Martin Bonne
Ricky Brabec Wins Dakar Rally for the 2nd Time

New-generation Honda CRF450 Rally rules in its debut.

Ricky Brabec, Dakar Rally 2024
RevZilla/Mission/Vance & Hines Suzuki Team To Feature Herrera And Gadson In 2024 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship

Returning champ Herrara will be paired with NHRA Pro Stock rookie Gadson.

Gaige Herrera and Richard Gadson