Flat Track Grand Championship Set for July in Du Quoin

For five days in Du Quoin, Ill., the 2021 AMA Flat Track Grand Championship will bring intense competition among the country's most elite amateur riders from July 15-20.

For five days in Du Quoin, Ill., the 2021 AMA Flat Track Grand Championship will bring intense competition among the country’s most elite amateur riders from July 15-20. 

Photo credit: Jen Muecke

Promoted by Steve Nace Racing, this year’s event features 24 competitive classes, and in addition to racing the Mile on day one, racers will compete on the Half-Mile, TT and Short Track over the five-day event. 

The full racing schedule, class structure and updated regulations can be viewed at americanmotorcyclist.com

“The AMA is excited to return to the historic Du Quoin State Fairgrounds and the Magic Mile. We look forward to a great week of intense flat track racing and crowning AMA National Champions,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. 

The Magic Mile has an illustrious history in flat track racing, with races dating back to the 1920s. The return to the Magic Mile for 2021 is the first in over half a decade. 

“Steve Nace Racing Promotions is excited to partner with the American Motorcyclist Association to bring the 2021 AMA Flat Track Grand Championship back to the Mile,” said Steve Nace. “The last time Amateurs raced on the Mile during the Flat Track Grand Championship was in 2014 and pre-entries indicate a strong turnout at this year’s event.” 

AMA National No. 1 plates will be awarded to the racers in each class who earn the highest point totals. 

Racers will compete for the Nicky Hayden AMA Flat Track Horizon Award, which honors an amateur racer poised for success at the pro level. 

Awards will also be given for AMA Youth Flat Track Racer of the Year and AMA Vet/Senior Flat Track Racer of the Year. 

The Bill Werner Fast Brain Award will also be handed out to racers who are fast and display academic excellence. The award is bestowed upon a racer based upon his or her performance at the event, as well as their performance in school based on official school transcripts supplied at the time of application.

For more information about the event, visit americanmotorcyclist.com/flat-track-racing or stevenaceracing.com

You May Also Like

Top Canadian Superbike Riders Ben Young and Trevor Daley Join Team BATTLAX

Young and Daley will debut on the Bridgestone-backed effort at the Daytona 200 March 7-9, 2024.

Ben Young and Trevor Daley, Team BATTLAX

Bridgestone Americas announced it has teamed up with top Canadian Superbike Championship riders Ben Young and Trevor Daley to form Team BATTLAX, which will debut at the 82nd running of the Daytona 200 March 7-9, 2024, at Daytona International Speedway. Team BATTLAX will compete on a pair of identical custom Suzuki Canada GSX-R750 builds featuring Bridgestone BATTLAX race tires.

Team HRC to Enter FIM E-Xplorer World Cup

The FIM E-Xplorer World Cup is an endurocross discipline featuring exclusively electric motocross bikes.

Polaris Off Road Unveils Full Driver Lineup for 2024 King of the Hammers

In addition to the Polaris Factory Racing team, fellow Polaris-supported racers Branden Sims, Wayne and Kristen Matlock, Justin Lambert and Sierra Romo are all set to compete in Desert Challenge.

King of the Hammers, Polaris RZR Pro
Polaris Off Road Welcomes Max Eddy Jr. as 4th Factory Driver for 2024 Race Season

The five-time Baja 500 and Baja 1000 champion will pilot one of Polaris’ purpose-built RZR Pro R Factory vehicles.

Max Eddy Jr., Polaris Off Road Team
Cody Webb Wins the 2024 LIQUI MOLY King of the Motos for the 6th Time

Cody Webb dominated the U.S. Hard Enduro opening round in the three-lap, GPS-based race in Johnson Valley.

Cody Webb

Other Posts

Polaris Off-Road Secures 2024 Dakar Rally Victory

Xavier de Soultrait and Co-Pilot Martin Bonnet earned two stage wins in their route to the overall SSV T4 category victory.

Dakar Rally Victory, SLR driver Xavier de Soultrait and co-pilot Martin Bonne
Ricky Brabec Wins Dakar Rally for the 2nd Time

New-generation Honda CRF450 Rally rules in its debut.

Ricky Brabec, Dakar Rally 2024
RevZilla/Mission/Vance & Hines Suzuki Team To Feature Herrera And Gadson In 2024 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship

Returning champ Herrara will be paired with NHRA Pro Stock rookie Gadson.

Gaige Herrera and Richard Gadson