AMA Announces Trophy Teams to Represent U.S. in 2018 FIM International 6 Days Enduro

The American Motorcyclist Association announced the 10 trophy team riders selected to represent the United States in the 2018 FIM International Six Days Enduro in Vina Del Mar, Chile on Nov. 12-17.

Photo by Mark Kariya

The American Motorcyclist Association announced the 10 trophy team riders selected to represent the United States in the 2018 FIM International Six Days Enduro in Vina Del Mar, Chile on Nov. 12-17.

The riders will compete as the U.S. World Trophy, Junior World Trophy and Women’s World Trophy teams.

The U.S. World Trophy and Junior World Trophy teams have been managed by KTM USA’s Off-Road Manager Antti Kallonen since 2012. Since 2017, Kallonen also has managed the U.S. Women’s World Trophy Team.

Kallonen said he is ready to begin preparing the teams for the November competition.
The 2018 U.S. World Trophy Team includes Ryan Sipes, of Flaherty, KY, on a Husqvarna FE 250; Taylor Robert, of Rio Verde, AZ, riding a KTM 450 XC-F; Kailub Russell, of Boonville, NC, on a KTM 450 XC-F; and Zach Bell, of Beaumont, CA, riding a Husqvarna TX 300.

Sipes was the 2015 ISDE overall winner. Robert was the 2016 ISDE overall winner. Russell is a five-time GNCC champion. Bell is a standout motocrosser turned off-road racer and AMA District 37 Big 6 Grand Prix Series champion.

The 2017 U.S. World Trophy Team finished a 16th among the 19 countries competing. Robert won the E3 class in 2017 and finished third overall individually. Sipes was 2017 runner-up in E1 and finished fifth overall individually.

The 2018 U.S. Junior World Trophy Team, made up of riders age 23 and younger includes Josh Toth, of Winsted, CT, on a KTM 250 XC-F; Grant Baylor, of Belton, SC, riding a KTM 450 XC-F; and Ben Kelley, of Burlington, CT, on a KTM 350 XC-F.

Baylor and Toth were also on the 2017 team. Baylor finished 13th in E2 and 31st overall. Toth finished 14th in E1 and 41st overall.

The 2018 U.S. Women’s World Trophy Team includes Tarah Gieger, of Winter Garden, FL, on a Honda CRF250R; Brandy Richards, of Lake Havasu City, AZ, riding a KTM 350 XC-F; and Becca Sheets, of Circleville, OH, on a KTM 250 XC-F.

Richards and Sheets were on the 2017 team, which finished second behind five-time winner Australia. The U.S. team bested the Australians in the last two days of competition.
These riders will be joined by 21 Club Team riders at the ISDE.

Riders at the ISDE compete in one of three displacement classes. The E1 class features 100cc to 125cc two-stroke and 175cc to 250cc four-stroke motorcycles. The E2 class features 175cc to 250cc two-stroke and 290cc to 450cc four-stroke motorcycles. The E3 class features 290cc to 500cc two-stroke and 475cc to 650cc four-stroke motorcycles.

Supporting the ISDE effort is ISDE team physician, Dr. James McGee.


You May Also Like

Colt Nichols and Next Wave of FIM World Supercross Championship Competitors Announced

Justin Brayton, Vince Friese, Enzo Lopes, Chris Blose, Kyle Peters and more added to 2023 Championship teams’ lineups.

FIM World Supercross Championship

The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship has continued to expand its global contingent of star athletes, announcing Colt Nichols, Justin Brayton, Vince Friese, Enzo Lopes, Chris Blose and Kyle Peters, who have all been added to the six-round championship season.

With global sensation Ken Roczen recently announcing his return to WSX competition, SX Global CEO Adam Bailey said Roczen’s commitment and the growing list of international stars add further anticipation and excitement for fans attending this year’s events around the world.

450SX Crown Fulfills Honda’s 2023 AMA SX Championship Sweep

Chase Sexton took Honda’s first premier-class AMA Supercross title in 20 years.

Chase Sexton
Pirelli to Continue as Spec Tire for North American World MiniGP Qualifiers

Pirelli Trackside Racing vendors will provide support at all five rounds.

Pirelli, FIM World MiniGP
Honda-Backed Team Raceco Launched to Compete in Short Course SxS Racing

Team Raceco Honda will field the Talon 1000R side-by-sides in the Champ series.

Team Raceco Honda, Dave Mason Jr. and Jamie Campbell
Ken Roczen Announces Long-Term Commitment to FIM World Supercross Championship

Roczen returns to defend his WSX 450cc class world title in 2023 and beyond.

Ken Roczen

Other Posts

Jett Lawrence Takes 2023 AMA 250SX West Region Championship

The title comes one week after his brother, Hunter Lawrence, won the 250SX East crown.

Jett Lawrence
Hunter Lawrence Clinches 2023 AMA 250SX East Region Championship

Debut AMA title for the 23-year-old Australian.

Hunter Lawrence
Royal Enfield’s BTR Flat Track Program Kicks Off 2023 at Dallas Half-Mile

Morgan Monroe scored first-place in a thrilling start to the BTR season.

Build. Train. Race., Royal Enfield BTR
Broadcast Expands Globally for FIM World Supercross Championship

WSX will reach more than half a billion households worldwide in 2023.

FIM WSX, broadcast partners